Hugo Mann’s Perfect Soul – R.A. Salvatore

This is something I’ve put off uploading to WordPress but I feel like sharing it, this story was written as part of a task in my Creative Writing class last year and the brief was to take a short story we liked and to retell it in our own words, or take an aspect of it and to write about that.

I chose Hugo Mann’s Perfect Soul by R.A. Salvatore because there was something about it I really liked, I’m not sure what it was. I guess I’m just a big fan of his work. For those who don’t know, R. A. Salvatore is the author of the famous Drizzt books, about a Dark Elf, set in the fantasy world of Forgotten Realms, the setting of Dungeons and Dragons games and spin off books etc.

In the original short there was mention of Hugo Mann experiencing life through the eyes of a German lad, running through Berlin. It wasn’t mentioned too much so this is what I decided to base my work on. The reason I chose this is because I was rewriting a story completely, I was taking a few key elements and creating all these new words for myself.

So below is my “Story Retold” of Hugo Mann’s Perfect Soul, a short story by the legendary author, R.A. Salvatore.

Retold Story

Let's Talk

