Feeling Lost (And The Silver Lining) – A General Update

So as you may or may not know, I have finished University and have moved home, back in with my dad and his girlfriend. Life is strange at the moment, I don’t really know my dad’s girlfriend and we have barely exchanged words so at the moment I feel a bit uncomfortable in the house I am supposed to now call “home”. His girlfriend aside I think moving back after 4 years of living away from the parents is hard enough.

So now, I have moved away from University, I’m super poor, and I have no more student loans incoming to get me out of my overdraft….so now what?

Get a job you might say, and I have!…a four hour a week job paying £6.31 an hour. Not exactly going to be raking it in but it’s a start.

Why do I say “feeling lost”? Well, because I don’t know what I want to do with my time. I have to start looking for a job, but I don’t know what I want to be. Obviously something to do with writing, but I don’t know what. I’m looking at copywrite jobs and things like that, but I’m thinking maybe I should get something involved with social media, as I use it a lot. I don’t know. I just…literally don’t know. It’ll become clear hopefully.

I know I’d love to work for myself and start my own company, as a freelance writer, running some sort of classes in writing. I have some voluntary filming and photography coming up for a local charity organisation called Umbrella, and that should be good. I will see if that presents any opportunities for paid work if they get funding to pay a “professional” because by that point I will have fully graduated and have my grades etc.

It’s just bumming me out a little I guess, especially after the tough year I have had. But it’s all looking up and I will talk about that now, to end this post on a good point!

It’s looking up because I believe identifying I feel lost is the stepping point to begin searching for my way. First things first I am trying to get myself motivated. I’ve done it before and I will do it again. This means, getting a decent sleeping pattern, eating and drinking healthily, doing exercise everyday, and putting some time aside to write, whether it be this or a story, or a script. I should be writing scripts to be fair, but after that monster of a feature film I think it’s time I did something else, even just a short story, to help do something else creative.

And being creative is a great segue into the next thing I want to talk about. YouTube. You’ll have seen on this blog that I have recently become what some call a “YouTuber” or “Vlogger”. And to be honest, it is one of the best things I have ever done, because by doing this, not only has my self-confidence grown significantly, it’s opened up a whole new world of being social and I have made some fantastic new friendships with some amazingly down to earth and creative people.

It’s given me a passion for travelling again as I travel to and from Birmingham quite a lot now. My next trip there will be on Sunday 16th June and I will be staying with my friend Lindsay for four days! I will be meeting up with my other Birmingham friends probably and making some content for my YouTube channel too.

And now comes the end of the blog post, where I shall present you with my most recent video. It is a summary of the weekend I had last Saturday and Sunday. It’s mainly footage of me and Lindsay from the Sunday as I didn’t film a lot on the Saturday, instead deciding to take it easy and enjoy the sun with my friends.

Hope you’re all well and if writing becomes part of my motivation routine then you can be sure that I will share my creations with you.

One thought on “Feeling Lost (And The Silver Lining) – A General Update

  1. I think the time immediately following graduation isn’t talked about nearly enough, especially about how weird it is to be in transition. You’ve graduated with hopes and dreams and suddenly you’re chin deep in uncertainty because you’re suddenly faced with the big question of, ” where am I going to get a job that’s going to earn enough money for all the student loans I need to pay back?”

    I really enjoyed watching the video, too. It brought a smile to my face.

Let's Talk

