Open Question: Do You Believe “The Opposite Sex” Is An Apt Description?

Open question is something I’d like to try to get the thoughts and opinions of my followers on a subject and allow us to talk and debate etc. If you remember way back when I wrote an article that spoke about my opinions on God and it sparked a lot of debate in the comments and it was always very thoughtful and calm and respectful so I know you guys are up that etc. My last Open Question got a good response and I think this will be a regular thing now as long as you keep coming. Catch up with any Open Questions here.

I offered my readers the chance to pose a question that they’d like to discuss but unfortunately I only had one response, but luckily the piece was a good question. I will try again another time to get some more questions in but if that doesn’t work then I’ll scrap that idea and come up with them myself or ask friends etc.

Steve from Imagineer eBooks was the commenter and he posed a good question so over to Steve ladies and gents:

I have, for many years, rejected the phrase “the opposite sex”. To me, it encourages a sense of division, engendering prejudices that we, as a modern society, should be striving to eliminate. It’s almost as if we think of ourselves as being two distinct species, which can (by some freak of genetics) successfully interbreed. Personally, I see fewer differences than similarities. I therefore prefer the term “the complementary gender”. This, I believe, does two things. First, it stresses that we truly do need both male and female, and that we can live in harmony. It takes no more effort than living harmoniously with members of the same gender, if we were honest about it. Sharing living space with anybody else will, inevitably, create stresses. I see no need to regard gender as being significant to that situation. Second, it removes the question of sex. An undue amount of focus on sex has grown in our society, partly thanks to Hollywood, in which sex appears to be the sole reason behind any relationship. But it has now gone so far that every relationship, even same gender ones, is now regarded as being driven solely by sex. That’s another “stresser” that exists implicitly in “the opposite sex”. So, I say let’s set aside the contrived “battle of the sexes” and accept that we are one species, designed to complement, support, nurture and be at peace with each other. Who knows? Perhaps the fate of humanity rests on coming to our senses.

After the howls of protest, and maybe hysterical laughter, die down, really think about it. Do you support the old “opposite sex” concept, or maybe you can believe in the “complementary gender”?

Let's Talk

