Writing Woe’s

I’ve ran into a bit of a problem with my Dawn script. The Scene by Scene I uploaded is 21 pages long. I’ve turned 10 of those pages into actual script making those 10 pages into 23 script pages. At this rate my film will end up around maybe 40-50 pages in length and the minimum is 90 pages.

I’m going to see this as a good thing though. I will finish writing the script and see what the final page count is and hopefully it will give me some room to develop the idea a little more, in particular I want to develop Lucy and Roy’s relationship and also some of the mystery about why the Shadowy Figure is haunting him so much.

I’ll let you know how it goes on!

4 thoughts on “Writing Woe’s

  1. Good thinking, characterisation is everything. Sometimes you can add a little sub-plot to lighten or darken the mood, whichever you prefer. It can be something quite trivial as long as it adds to the picture you’re trying to build up in your audience’s mind…what’s Lucy like with a domestic crisis or when her car breaks down for example. Does she blow her top when the sink is blocked, or get out her tool box or start flattering her eyelashes at her next door neighbour?

    How does Roy cope with a rival for Lucy’s affections or with his boss always picking on him or his neighbour’s cat peeing on his lawn or bumping into an old flame, who broke his heart when he was 12?…you get the drift. How we react to the little things in life is often an indication of how we’d cope with the big life-and-death stuff:)

    I haven’t had a chance to read your latest script version, but promise to do so asap. Good luck and happy writing.

    1. All very good advice and stuff I plan to take on board (: I plan to do something with the character of Alice (who turns out to be Lucy anyway) showing how she came to be on the DAWN project.

      1. Well done; it’ll stretch out your script over more pages when you add a sub-plot or two, make it more intruiging for your audience AND help you with your characterisation. What could possibly go wrong (she says grinning, knowing the pitfalls of subplotting only too well).

Let's Talk

