Tools Of The Trade: Evernote

Welcome to my new weekly feature! Tools of the trade will hopefully run every Friday and I’ll try to stick to that as much as possible. I have six “tools” planned to talk about I may feature more if I can think of any especially with going back to University soon, I will start writing more, therefore using more! So let’s get it started.

This weeks tool: Evernote

The “tool” this week is Evernote, a free to use, cloud-syncing, online bound note extravaganza.

Well okay, extravaganza may be a bit too enthusiastic, but non -the-less Evernote is an extremely useful application.

Like last weeks tool, Dropbox, Evernote has a desktop client (piece of software) and has apps available for all sorts of phones and tablets. Even my Windows Phone has the app, and the applications on the Windows Phone operating are lack-luster to say the least.

So what is the point of the aforementioned possible note extravaganza?

Well, this is how I use it. If I am out and about and I think of an idea, say on the bus or the train or just when walking down the street I can pull out my phone and open up the Evernote application and write the idea down. I then put the idea out of my mind and carry on about my day. Rinse and repeat.

Then I come home, fire up my computer, and load up the Evernote application. It checks for up dates and low and behold, it syncs with my account and downloads the notes from the internet and then bam, they are on my computer. Ready for me to think about in more depth or save for a later date.

This is also good if you hear a song when you’re out and about and you want to remember it for later!

You can find out more and sign up for Evernote here!

http://evernote.com/

3 thoughts on “Tools Of The Trade: Evernote

  1. I use Springpad, which is web-based and does pretty much the same thing. It has a client for the iPhone and a Firefox plugin, but no separate application, which is fine with me, since I use the browser all the time.

  2. I love Evernote, especially since I can tap into if from my phone and Kindle when I’m out. I use mine for writing on the go and recipes, plus lots of other stuff. There’s a few new books out there I want to read on all the different things you can do with it.

  3. Glad to see that someone other than me has a Windows Phone (it may be lagging in the app stakes for now but expect that is all about to change). I haven’t used Evernote but the One Note application built into office does the same job. It syncs with the cloud, has a desktop version as well and is a great way to keep ideas that pop in to my head at inconvenient times. It can even be pinned to the start menu so the note is just one click away.

    My only challenge then becomes remembering that I had the great idea. 🙂

    It is wonderful when technology is genuinely useful – what a world we live in.

Let's Talk

