Writing Prompt – Give It A Go!

I haven’t been posting much recently as after finishing University for the summer my brain has just shut down and I have been trying to have a break from writing, although that will hopefully change soon as today I began planning ideas for the feature length script I have to write over the course of next year. So by this time next year I will have a full movie script with numerous drafts done etc.

I am very good with meeting assignment deadlines and having draft etc, unless the assignment is an essay, then without a doubt I will do it two days before (keep that quiet though!)

So now writing is back on my mind I want to liven up the blog a bit and get the writing flowing and today I had what I believe is a good idea, and for it to be a good idea I need you, yes you! and you!

Every week I am going to try my best to post a “prompt” almost like the picture prompts quite a few blogs do, but this will instead be an idea, with an open ended question. It helps me by getting to read everyone’s work and it helps you to do a little extra writing on the side.

So please find below today’s prompt, and hopefully this will be a fun exercise for my readers if it takes off!

——-

A postman has noticed recently, whilst doing his rounds, that every Wednesday he has been delivering strange letters to the house on the corner of Rose Avenue. The envelope is always slightly heavy, and the paper the envelope is made from looks like very expensive paper.

The address on the front is written in the most amazing hand writing this postman has ever seen. Curiosity got the better of him and this time he skipped the house, didn’t deliver the letter and instead took it home.

Now, sat at his dining table he opens the letter, pulls it from the envelope, unfolds it and begins to read.

What does the letter say?

27 thoughts on “Writing Prompt – Give It A Go!

    1. of course not just write what you want, it can be a poem, a story, you could just write what the letter states etc etc. For example the letter could be something along the lines of “Dear Mr. Smith, I have wrote to you every week and still I have had no response. Are you okay?”

  1. It says,
    Here is the last payment for you. Now that this is over, I have something to say. I don’t think extortion was fair, but probably your goal when we met that day on the train. Our little tryst certainly was not worth the price but I am at a loss to negotiate. I made a horrible mistake, now please leave my family and me alone once and for all, just go away, I have no more money for you.

  2. Hi – I actually put up prompts on my writers foundation web site every Saturday. (www.wfscsherwoodpark.com) To make it interesting I use photos, random words and like you ideas/starter sentances. They are great fun to do & I love reading all the responses – no-one is ever the same! We even published a book of certain prompts from a whole year – Writing Prompt Journey – http://www.dreamwritepublishing.ca
    As for my reply to your prompt above – A lock of hair fell onto the table, it’s rich burgundy curls spreading before the astonished postman as he unfolded the letter. As he had guessed the paper was of remarkable quality with an interesting watermark of a unicorn rearing up on its hind hooves. The postman’s eyes became even wider as he read the elaborate script.
    Dearest Anton,
    Our time together is almost at an end and I pray you can make one more meeting in the hidden glen this coming Sunday. The moon will be full and its light will once again reveal me to you. If there was a way for me to enter your realm I would gladly do so but sadly it is not to be.
    Please meet me at midnight and know I will always love you even from the otherside. This lock of hair shall be my last gift to you, my love.
    Anastia of the Echlon Realm
    The postman shook his head, looked around the kitchen and listened intently. This must be some sort of prank but who would go to so much trouble?

    I hope you like it fellow writers. Enjoy your creations.
    Mandy Eve-Barnett
    mandyevebarnett.wordpress.com

  3. I actually create prompts every Saturday for my writers circle website – http://www.wfscsherwoodpark.com – and use pictures, randoms words & starter sentances or ideas such as these. It is really interesting to see the diversity of responses. We even published a prompt book – Writing Prompt Journey – http://www.dreamwritepublishing.ca.
    As for my reply to your prompt above – A lock of hair fell onto the table, it’s rich burgundy curls spreading before the astonished postman as he unfolded the letter. As he had guessed the paper was of remarkable quality with an interesting watermark of a unicorn rearing up on its hind hooves. The postman’s eyes became even wider as he read the elaborate script.
    Dearest Anton,
    Our time together is almost at an end and I pray you can make one more meeting in the hidden glen this coming Sunday. The moon will be full and its light will once again reveal me to you. If there was a way for me to enter your realm I would gladly do so but sadly it is not to be.
    Please meet me at midnight and know I will always love you even from the otherside. This lock of hair shall be my last gift to you, my love.
    Anastia of the Echlon Realm
    The postman shook his head, looked around the kitchen and listened intently. This must be some sort of prank but who would go to so much trouble?

    I hope you like it – thank you for the interesting prompt and I will return!
    Enjoy fellow writers
    Mandy

  4. In bewilderment he reads: “I don’t know for how long I’ll be able to continue sending these letters; they’ve reinforced surveillance and started tracking every bit, so please, believe me this is serious. Our whole survival depends on your acting. I’ve tried to catch your attention as best as I could, but up to now it’s proved fruitless.

    Dear Mr postman, if you deliver this letter to its addressee it’ll vanish, as the others did, as soon as it’s dropped in the mail box. However, if you are capable of understanding how crucial this is (and THIS IS NOT A JOKE!) follow the letter. I wish I could say more, but it’s either too dangerous or impossible.

    Please, help us!

    (and here there should be some kind of numerical code or clue that’ll help, with the addition of some others, our hero to find the mysterious sender after much interesting and exciting ordeal)

    1. I really like the twist mid paragraph, that the letter was actually for the postman and not for the intended addressee at all! Very good (: I like the idea of the numerical code too, as it sets up a larger universe (:

  5. “I am very good with meeting assignment deadlines and having draft etc, unless the assignment is an essay, then without a doubt I will do it two days before (keep that quiet though!)” —I’m like this too 🙂 And if it’s not easy, the hell with it! haha

  6. Darling,
    I can bear your silence no longer. Meet me at our special place today. If you can ignore this plea along with all else I written to you then I shall jump. It seems especially poinant to make that the place to hasten my soul to my next incarnation and maybe we can be together in one.
    All my love
    D

    OR

    In cutout newsprint:
    This is your last chance deliver the key. As you are aware we are out of fingers to send to you.
    Today at 2pm.

  7. The postman opens the letter three hours later after finishing his morning round.
    The letter says “Please find enclosed tape”…
    The tape says:
    “Your mission should you decide to accept it, is to prevent the planned assassination of the President at 12.00 hours today. Go immediately to our usual meeting place for further instructions. The safety of our President is in your hands. This tape will self-destruct in five seconds. Good luck”
    It is now 12.02.
    The postman turns on the TV….

    1. This is great a nice take on the traditional Mission Impossible thing, especially as the tape;

      1) Didn’t get to its destination
      &
      2) Was received after the appointed time anyway.

  8. Totally get it on being all written out! I’ve almost finished a double degree in English Literature and Creative Writing and I get to that point. So much writing, so much creative thought it’s like the mind goes into overload!! But doesn’t take too long to get back into it. Very good idea on the prompt – I’ve been doing this quite a bit and it’s amazing how it can produce some amazing lines that can be used in stories. Thanks for that and looking forward to your feature length script.

  9. A little late to the party, I know, but here is mine:

    Mother,

    I hope you are in good health, and that your garden continues to flourish. I am, as always, grateful for the pressed flowers you enclose within your letters; they help alleviate the sorrow the winter months bring.

    However, I have my husband and my books for company so all is well. It gets somewhat dull, spending half the year here, but you know how fickle I am- after two months of spring I shall long to be back here again!

    Alas, a heavy burden weighs upon my soul. Every winter when I return to this realm, I remark to you in my letters how troubling the cries are, how haunting the screams. This year, it is not so. This year, I find myself no longer concerned. I fear what I am becoming. Will I, in years to come, take pleasure in these poor creatures’ suffering? Will I fall into slumber with the hoarse voices of the damned as my lullaby? You will doubtless place the blame at my husband’s feet, but I regret it is not his influence alone that makes me so complacent in the face of pain. You are a wonderful mother, to think so much of me as to think me incapable of having darkness within; but you are a woman of light and life and love, and I have always been a creature of twilight and shadow.

    Still, pay me no heed. Winter always makes me melancholy. I promise my next letter will be full of the good cheer you have always so delighted in.

    All my love,
    Persephone
    x

    1. Wow this is fantastic! I love the language used and the atmosphere that just using the language itself creates. Is this from Persephone, the Greek god of myth, or is it indeed just a name?

      Great work, I hope to hear from you again! (:

Let's Talk

