Music That Inspires Me: Crystallize by Lindsey Stirling

I’m going to be doing something a bit different with these now, to help myself get writing and to help all of you get creative I am going to link songs, describe why I have linked them, and then I will follow up with a mini-story aka flash fiction. The story can be based on either the music or the video (maybe even both). The idea of this prompt and write set up is taken from Picture It & Write which is ran by the people of Ermilia’s blog. I hope this catches on and people like it. I will also publish this to my other blog Fresh Ink. The story and reason for choosing this song is after the jump.

So this weeks song is Crystallize by Lindsey Stirling.

I am a lover of dubstep music amongst others, but something I haven’t ever took the time to listen to properly is the violin. So when I heard this song (and most of the others by Lindsey Stirling) I was amazed at what can be done with a violin. And these two things are so far apart that mashing them together and managing to pull it off is a brilliant achievement.

Also, if you don’t like the music just mute the video and watch that amazing scenery.

——

I walked through the frozen husks, running my gloved fingers along the walls. My gloves were made from the finest furs, but still the cold seeped through, chilling me to the bone. It was a romantic torture, if there was such a thing. The beauty outweighed rational thinking.

I pulled the glove from my hand and placed my palm flat onto the walls of this crystal castle. Instantly I felt the strength drain from me, my knees buckled and I pulled my arm away, pieces of skin staying behind. I felt the warm blood trickle in between my fingers. It dripped to the floor staining the snow red. My reaction was just to laugh, at my stupidity, at the sheer beauty of this place. I forgot how I had even come to be here, what was I doing? In the distance I heard her call again, and for a split second the pain went away, hearing her voice calmed me. Made everything stop.

I turned and I saw her there, further into the structure. She stood, her hair as white as snow, her eyes as blue as the ice. My feet moved forward and the glove I was holding fell to floor. Frost clung to her eyelashes, as she blinked at me.

“David, your hand?”

“I needed to feel close to you, to touch you just once!”

“You fool.”

I walked towards her, this goddess of ice and dropped to my knees.

“Are you sure this is what you desire?”

“Yes.”

“Then let it be so.”

She slowly brought forth her hand and placed it onto my head. Slowly my face became numb, and the long locks of hair that fell in front of my eyes slowly turned pure white.

I knew this was the end.

I was hers now.

6 thoughts on “Music That Inspires Me: Crystallize by Lindsey Stirling

  1. I love the video! Violin + ice cave = amazing! I love that this girl seems so alive with the way she moves to the music.

    Thanks for visiting my blog! 🙂

  2. Nice work! I love this song. It’s great and your story is very fitting. You left us with a beautiful and devastatingly tragic image for the ending.

    – Ermisenda

  3. Hi Daniel! I’ll just say… go ahead!!! I usually write listening to a song non-stop until I pull the story out from me… or it (I’m not sure which); so I think this is a great idea. About the song you chose, I think it’s absolutely beautiful. It has a mixture of strength and gentleness that’s marvelous. I liked your story too, it had the same mixture in it.

Let's Talk

