Picture It & Write

Again the people over at Ermilia’s blog have posted another Picture It & Write article. For those who don’t know what this is, they post a picture and then write a brief story about the image. They then ask for you to join in, your can either carry on their story or write your own. You can also do poetry and even something in another language (providing there is a translation posted along with it). I encourage everyone to give it a go because it helps get the “creative juices” flowing. My entry is below the image.

My story is a continuation of the original article, which can be found here.

…My fingertips touched the cool glass. What was she running from? Or, who was she running to?…

Suddenly she stopped in her tracks. Still as calm waters, and then slowly she turned, searching for the gaze she clearly felt upon her. I was gone before she turned completely. I ran through the house to the front door, slamming the locks across. In a frenzy I began pulling furniture from around the hallway in front of the door.

My mother appeared in the doorway of the sitting room; “What are you…” she stopped mid sentence after she saw the horror on my face.

“What have you done?” She hissed.

I couldn’t answer. Mother went to the window and peered through the blinds and I looked up through the glass window in the door. No-one was there. I turned to look at my mother and suddenly the girl was behind her, she snapped mothers neck in one swift movement and then came towards me.

10 thoughts on “Picture It & Write

  1. Interesting. Funny because I wrote a story some months ago that could’ve been based on this image but was, in fact, an interpretation of “Little Red Riding Hood” and inspired in part by the “Red Riding Hood” movie from last year.
    “Glass window” is maybe redundant. But this definitely leaves me wondering what’s going on.

      1. No…it’s under consideration with Kaleidotrope magazine currently. But if you give me a means to do so I’d be glad to send it to you. It’s one of my favorites. It’s Red Riding Hood in my Universe of the Nine Roads setting.

        I think I may go and read the whole thing when it’s complete.

        1. Oh cool, if you can email it, you could send it to contact@wordsformwindows.com?

          Unfortunately mine will never be “done”, although I may revisit some of these little snippets and flesh them out in the future, but for now they’re just small little writing exercises. Sort of mini short stories aha.

          Universe of the Nine Roads? So is that your sort of “world” where you base your stories? I’m in the middle of coming up with mine. I’m still in the process of planning my novel and I’m thinking about the world etc now.

  2. Nice!
    I actually wish I had the time to participate right now… the picture is definitely inspiring a creative twitch. Ah well, perhaps next time.
    Thanks for sharing!

  3. Pingback: Words Form Windows

Let's Talk

