Unmotivated & Uninspired

I am so unmotivated at the moment, I have a lack of inspiration and ideas, I have to come up with a 30 minute script idea for University and then write it, but 30 minutes is such an awkward time to write for, it’s okay if your doing an episode, but as a complete story in half an hour, it seems to be either too short or too long depending on the story, and I just can’t think of something that would fit it.

Apparently I can write the first episode of a long series, but it still has to have a complete story within it, but most dramas on tv today are an hour long, and they work as they are, 30 minutes isn’t a great amount of time to set up all the characters you want through the series and then tell a story.

Well obviously it is because there are shows out there with 20 minutes of air time, not including adverts. I guess with a series you don’t HAVE to introduce and fully flesh out your characters and introduce them all in that first episode, if anything that’s what is so good about series.

But I don’t know. I. Just. Can’t. Think.

And it’s driving me insane.

So I’ve been distracting myself by doing some level design and programming using the Creation Kit, the modding tools that have been released for last years hit Skyrim.

(My girlfriend just asked why I’m typing so much and I said I’m writing an article about how unmotivated I am, and she just shouted hypocrite at me aha. Blog posts are more procrastination if anything.)

Related articles

12 thoughts on “Unmotivated & Uninspired

  1. Try free writing to get the juices flowing. 2 minutes on a timer, pick an object around you and just write whatever comes to mind. No censoring. It doesn’t have to make sense. That usually gets me going.

  2. I hear ya. Maybe an ensemble (dysfunctional family situation) piece might help take up room. Or someone rowing somewhere lol – takes a long time to do that… or friendship gone wrong and needs resolution or perhaps not. I have way too many ideas, brain is always on and not enough hands to help. You’ll come up with something! Oft times when you feel blank, your subconscious is working on it 🙂

    1. I think I have a good idea now that won’t be too hard to do. A pizza delivery guy delivers pizza and its to a mob guy, the mob guy forgets his money and goes to get his wallet, the delivery guy steps inside to put the pizza down on the side he can see (sorta envisioned like monica’s flat in Friends) and there is a hostage tied up, or even like some blood or stuff.

    1. Thanks, I think I have got my idea now; A pizza delivery guy delivers pizza and its to a mob guy, the mob guy forgets his money and goes to get his wallet, the delivery guy steps inside to put the pizza down on the side he can see (sorta envisioned like monica’s flat in Friends) and there is a hostage tied up, or even like some blood or stuff.

  3. don’t be inti9midated, Daniel — be challenged; many great scripts have fitted into the 30 minute format — though it’s more like 22 allowing for ads. Try checking out the synopses for the early ‘Trwilight Zone’ episodes: they are classics.

    I look forward to your response from this

    1. Hi, thanks for the advice, I will have a look into it.

      I have posted the first 3 minutes of the script that I have decided on, I have the general idea but have decided to just start writing, and then edit as I go, because I find that sometimes that’s just easier.

  4. I’ve been in many a slump. It can be difficult to pull out of a slump but not impossible. I suggest a few hours of uninterupted sleep, let the brain rest.

  5. If it has to be a complete story in 30 minutes then arguably you need to make it a script that is purely character lead. Follow 1 character, can obviously be whoever/whatever you want it to be? An old man getting some test results back, a little girl who’s lost her teddy bear, a vampire who really really fucking misses the taste of Sunny Delight… Throw in some ambiguity and subtle allusions to a bigger picture and you’re laughing. Good luck – let us know how it turns out? Also, erase your save file on skyrim and you’ll feel so devestated you won’t play it again. That thing crippled my work ethic over xmas and I’m meant to be working my ass off for my final year of uni. Once again – good luck

Let's Talk

