Chronicle

Yesterday I went to the cinema for the first time since around November, and after a line of films that really didn’t interest me, I saw the trailer for this and didn’t know what to expect. I figured I would just get it on DVD in the future. But my housemate works at the cinema and could get free tickets, so of course I took him up on the offer and went along to see it.

I am so glad I did.

Chronicle Plot:

Three teenage friends go down a hole in the woods and emerge with telekinetic capabilities. As their great powers grow, though, so does their sense of irresponsibility…

Chronicle kept me interested from the first second to the last, and made me slightly jealous. It was a pretty plausible explanation as to how they get their powers, they found a mysterious object in a cave. And the powers they got were “plausible”, they gain telekinesis, the power to move things with your mind.

As the film progresses we get to watch as the three lads powers develop, and it’s not just in a rocky style montage, you actually feel glad for them when they achieve whatever it is they’re trying to do.

Chronicle is filled with humour which helps alleviate the drama of the main character’s storyline. And it doesn’t seemed forced, the humour comes a lot from the lads actions with each other. That is something we can all relate to because their on screen relationships are well acted, and it just reminds me of the laughs I have with my friends or family.

Something that surprised me is that Chronicle is filmed in the style of Cloverfield, which is in first person. But it is done really well, as Andrew starts to use his powers to make his camera float, allowing for some interesting shots. Towards the end of the film, the strength of this technique becomes apparent as you get to witness the big finale through CCTV and police car camera’s and passerby’s mobile phones.

There a lot of twists and turns in the movie that are really well done, they aren’t as dramatic say as the final twist in The Machinist, but they keep the story fresh.

My recommendation: Go see it. Now.

Let's Talk

