Agh!

Turning a story into a film is difficult, and anyone who complains that films of books are “rubbish” because they “left too much out”.

You see, so much in a story comes across from the descriptions and narration as opposed to the dialogue. Whilst in a film you have to get the majority of information through the dialogue, and any action. But you have to balance that with just coming outright and saying for example; “I haven’t been outside in a week.”

One way you can combat this is using voice over, which is okay for a short film, but unless done right wouldn’t be the best solution for a feature length film.

I am working on turning my short story; “Come With Me”, into a short film script, and this is one of the troubles I am having, especially since the story is in first person, so we are told a lot of the emotions and thoughts through the main character.

It is a challenge, but one I am enjoying and when I have completed it I will upload the script and provide a link to the original story and if you have the time, I’d appreciate any feedback you have.

5 thoughts on “Agh!

    1. Thanks (: So far I have done three pages of the story and it’s turned into 6 pages of script, I’m taking my time with it, doing a little bit each day because I want it to do the original story justice as I’m quite proud of the short story.

  1. Daniel, have you considered doing it in a way that you could use narration through the people’s thoughts, does that make sense? Like, it would be the character’s voice in the background speaking his thoughts? That may be totally confusing but it’s just a thought, lol. smiles, Terri

    1. Yeah I get what you mean (: I mention in this post about using Voice Overs, but I dunno, it’s not something I’m comfortable doing, because it irritates me in films when I see it unless it is done right, but with a short film, 30 minutes or under, it does definitely become more viable (and maybe even necessary in some cases) due to needing to get information across in a short space of time.

      1. I agree, if you do it, that it has to been done tastefully, but that’s what makes it a work of art, no? I’m no expert by any means but I do watch a lot of movies and know when such things have been done right and think it adds to the film a “inside their mind” glimpse that works pretty well. But, again, it has to be done in a way so as not to confuse the audience. In a short film it could work to give it more depth? maybe.

Let's Talk

