Picture It & Write

Again the people over at Ermilia’s blog have posted another Picture It & Write article. For those who don’t know what this is, they post a picture and then write a brief story about the image. They then ask for you to join in, your can either carry on their story or write your own. You can also do poetry and even something in another language (providing there is a translation posted along with it). I encourage everyone to give it a go because it helps get the “creative juices” flowing. My entry is below the image. 

My hand broke the surface, the crushing pressure of the sea birthing me into the air. I opened my mouth and sucked in the oxygen. Sweet, sweet oxygen. I led on my back and let the current take me with it for a while, contemplating how I got here. I could hear shouts in the distance as the boat sailed off, sails pregnant with wind. They found the gold in my room, my own “tax” on the hoards we constantly took. And I thought it was so well hidden, now look at me. Poor and wet, so very wet. I closed my eyes and went along the tide.

Some time later I woke on the shore of an island, kelp and weeds across my face. Somehow my hat had washed up next to me, so now I had my hat and my sword, and the sodden clothes on my back. I got up and crawled over to my hat, picked it up, placed it on my head and looked around at my new home. For now at least.

4 thoughts on “Picture It & Write

  1. Pingback: Words Form Windows

Let's Talk

