Steampunk: An Anthology Of Fantastically Rich And Strange Stories

I’ve been wanting to read a Steampunk book for a while now and I just don’t know where to start, It’s something I’ve always been interested in reading though. I have heard of a book called “The Difference Engine” by William Gibson and Bruce Sterling, apparently this is one of the most defining Steampunk books around but I have also read some really bad reviews about the book so I was undecided whether I was willing to spend the money on a book in an unknown genre by and unknown author.

 

 

This brings me nicely to my next point, today I was wondering around a book store, Waterstone’s if anyone is interested, and I saw a book with the title of this post, and the cover art (shown) drew me to it at first, and then on the front I saw one of the stories is by Garth Nix, the author of the Abhorsen Trilogy. The book is basically a collection of Steampunk short stories, and because I’m studying short stories in Creative Writing and Steampunk is something I’ve wanted to read and that fact that one of the stories is by Garth Nix it just made sense for me to buy the book aha. It was like fate called me to the stand that it was placed on. I think I am really going to enjoy the tales in the book and if there are any in particular I like I will post about them here so you can try to track them down if you so desire aha.

5 thoughts on “Steampunk: An Anthology Of Fantastically Rich And Strange Stories

  1. I’ve never read Steampunk either but this genre sounds interesting! Great blog by the way! It’s be great if you’d review the book in a post when you’re finished reading it… 🙂

    1. Thanks, I really like your blog too (: I have had a quick read of one of the short stories in the anthology and it seems good, I want to finish up my other book at the moment and then I will focus on the Steampunk one and I will write a review if I can (: I’ll let you know!

Let's Talk

