An Update

I can’t believe it’s been nearly a week since my last post. I’ve been way too busy aha.

Anyway lets not focus on how I’ve failed to be creative for a week let us focus on the future.

The first thing in the future is NaNoWriMo, or National Novel Writing Month. This is something my friend told me about, I can’t believe I have never heard of it (although the logo rings some bells so maybe I have a while ago.)

Anyways, for those of you don’t know, basically throughout the month of November you are aiming to write 50,000 words. Which is about 1667 words a day. Obviously some days you won’t be able to manage all of your 1667 words, but as long as you keep cracking at it and don’t fall too far behind it should be easy to catch up.

At the end of the month you submit your 50000 words online, and NaNoWriMo’s word count checker, verifies your words and if you manage it you “win”.

All that seems to happen when you win is you get a discount to some software and a sticker or something. But it’s not about the prizes, what you SHOULD focus is on is the fact that you have 50000 words under you belt, even if it’s not a complete novel it is definitely an amazing stepping stone that should hopefully let you manage to FINALLY finish that book that has been eating away at the back of your mind!

I am going to attempt it this year, hopefully I’ll do it, but who knows aha. With the amount of University work I have I’m not too sure. But I’m sure I can spare two hours each day to focus on it.

Next on the agenda! Creative Writing!

So as you may know I have to write a 4000 word short story for Creative Writing this year at University and I think I may have finally come up with my idea. I was focusing too much on trying to use one of the ideas I already had floating around, or sat in a word document should I say. But these are all too broad ideas and the other day I came up with an idea based on the song City by Hollywood Undead but again this seemed too broad and I couldn’t figure out how to make it work as a 4000 word short story.

So then yesterday I was sat in my Dad’s new house waiting for him to come from the old house with more stuff and I just had an idea for my story randomly, all from the image of a girl sitting on a wall. I started to ask myself, why is sat on the wall? “Because she’s sad.” Why is she sad? “Because she is lost.” Where is she lost from? And so on and so forth and now I have an idea for a story, that will be a love story but with a sad ending, not one that would be expected either. I don’t want to post the ending here because when I finally post the story after I have finished it, I think it will be a nice surprise for you, my readers.

Anywho, I shall leave you now, I have to go tidy my room and do chores etc aha.

I will post something later on, maybe a 50 word story.

2 thoughts on “An Update

Let's Talk

