9/11 RIP

September 11, 2001 attacks in New York City: V...
Image via Wikipedia

10 years ago today, two planes crashed into the towers of New Yorks World Trade Center, where around 3000 people died in the space of one day.

Last summer I spent three days in New York and visited Ground Zero, the site of the attacks. I took photograph’s of the site where once upon a time there was two skyscrapers, helping define Manhattan’s skyline, and I would like to share them here now. Included is The Eternal Flame that was lit in honour of every who died in there, and also the statue that stood outside the towers. The statue was recovered and relocated next to The Eternal Flame.

A year on and the new tower they have erected has come on amazingly, considering when I was there last year, only the foundations where there.

I can’t wait to go back to New York and see what has changed since I’ve been gone.

I want to live in America some day, especially in New York because no matter how cliche it sounds I fell in love with the city, even in the space of three days. I felt safer walking around Manhattan at night than I have felt walking around Blackpool or Preston at night (Blackpool is where I grew up and Preston is where I am at the moment).

People say they can remember the moment when they were told very vividly and being ten at the time, I should have been old enough to remember, to have this lightbulb memory that many people have, but I can’t. Whether that is a good thing or a bad thing, I don’t know.

There has been intelligence that either New York or Washington will be subject to another bombing today due to a car bomb, hopefully this won’t be the case and America can mourn their lost ones in piece and solitude.

9/11 RIP.

Here are the pictures, first in a slideshow and then individually:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Let's Talk

